Let's build a couple of uO_c's!

dComposerdComposer Contributor, Member

I've been active on the NYMS discord for a bit now but I'm still pretty new to this forum so I thought a fun introduction would be to start a DIY thread acting as a soup-to-nuts chronicling of a couple of uO_c's I'm gearing up to build once all the parts arrive!

The sense I'm getting from members I've talked to so far is that there is an apprehension to start smd projects... but once you get over the tiny size it's *so much easier than building through hole projects*! Lets treat this like an AMA / build blog so feel free to jump in with questions!

Also, I should mention that I'm just a hobbyist and have no formal EE training or anything so caveat emptor :D

Comments

• dComposerdComposer Contributor, Member

Ok, so while I'm waiting (im)patiently for the parts to arrive, lets catch up:

I received the pcbs as a trade but I didn't have any panels so I went to jakplugg's GitHub and downloaded them: https://github.com/jakplugg/uO_c

The panel is hiding in the cleverly titled "panel" directory. The files I needed were in the "PCBpanel_JM" subfolder. Going into that folder you see a bunch of files that have extensions that begin with "g". These are "gerber" files -- that's the standard file type that fab houses like to receive and they tell them where to drill or what to silk screen on which layer.

Wikipedia explains it more elegantly:

The Gerber format is an open ASCII vector format for printed circuit board (PCB) designs.[1] It is the de facto standardused by PCB industry software to describe the printed circuit board images: copper layers, solder mask, legend, drill data, etc.

Anyway, I digress... Usually once you produce all the gerbers you need you then zip them all up into one file and that's what you send to the fab company. This is the "panel.zip" file that's in the director so all I had to do was grab that and send it off to my favorite fab house: https://jlcpcb.com/